Green, yellow, white flowers wrapped in tissue paper, cellophane.

Basic Floral Design Course – First Project

I recently enrolled in the Beginning Floral Design course offered by the Connecticut Florists Association. I am learning a lot and enjoying myself immensely, so I would like to showcase my work.

The first project was a simple wrapped bouquet. We were critiqued on the alignment and layering of the flowers, and the tightness of the wrap. This is mine:

Green, yellow, white flowers wrapped in tissue paper, cellophane.
A wrapped bouquet.

I didn’t want my flowers to die overnight, so as soon as I got home, I casually arranged the flowers in a vase:

Green, yellow, white flowers in red vase.
The initial arrangement.

The arrangement seemed a bit lanky, so when I got a chance, I trimmed it down and condensed it a bit into what I think is a much cleaner arrangement:

A much cleaner arrangement.
A much cleaner arrangement.

I had to thin out a lot of flowers and greenery, and with the leftovers I made this accent piece:

The
The “leftovers” from the original design.
Leave a Reply

